eat. dine. stay awhile.

Michael and I enjoy entertaining, hosting dinner parties, and hanging out with good company in our cozy abode. This is why I’ve agonized over our dining room table and, more specifically, the seating options.

A few dilemmas I faced – maximizing our space by providing just enough seating, choosing comfortable seats that make people want to stay awhile, budgetbudgetbudget, and purchasing beautiful, durable pieces with a mid-century, classic, rustic feel.

I’ve been inspired by all the lovely mismatched, mod podge of dining chairs and benches frequenting Pinterest.

via Pinterest

via Pinterest

via Pinterest

via Coco & Kelley

via Daily Dream Decor

via Daily Dream Decor

After two trips to Pier 1, two Craigslist adventures, and only one trip each to World Market and then West Elm, I finally had some success. On a brief side note: major props to the hubbs for loading/unloading chairs, assembling benches – all with a good dose of patience.

Option 1: Jackson Metal Tub Chair from World Market [$119.99 ea]

IMG_1874

Although I love the industrial style, the metal tub chairs looked disproportionate to my already purchased linen, nailhead chairs. They sure looked pretty, but also weren’t the comfiest.

Option 2: Ronan Dining Chair from Pier 1 [$139.95]

IMG_1879

Old habits die hard. I naturally went for these cottagey chairs. Great construction, but ultimately too coastal for the look I was going for. Nixed that option and finally decided on a bench as the best option.

Option 3: winner winner chicken dinner! Vonnegut/Kraft bench from West Elm [$159.99] {please admire the uber ridiculous price! #sharethelove}

Screen Shot 2014-01-07 at 11.42.59 PM

By having a bench instead of two sets of chairs, it takes up minimal space and doesn’t obstruct the view.

The linen, nailhead upholstered chairs pictured above were purchased NIB from Craigslist at [$300] for both. Dining room table is the Jackson Rectangular Table from World Market at [$329.99].

Alternative seating options that I’m still coveting are the infamous King Louis XIV ghost chairs or the classic wishbone chairs. Both of these are perfect for small spaces since they add little visual weight.

Kartell-Louis-Ghost-Chairs

202_sphoto_1_1365832502

I just love these timeless pieces and clean lines, but the hubbs isn’t a huge fan. Poor me, I guess I can’t complain too much, maybe one day perhaps?

2 thoughts on “eat. dine. stay awhile.

  1. I am dying over every single picture on here! Seriously, I am with you on the whole mis-matched look. Sometimes it can be tough to put together, but when you find the right pieces, it’s the best!

    • Mis-matched chairs are just so perfectly imperfect aren’t they? I totally agree that the right mix of pieces creates both function and an interesting conversational piece.

Leave a Reply

